Friends of Latin American Railways

Deutsch English
Association
News
Agenda
Reports
Argentina
Bolivia
Brazil
Chile
Colombia
Costa Rica
Ecuador
Guatemala
Mexico
Nicaragua
Panama
Paraguay
Peru
Puerto Rico
Tours
Contact
Links
FLB auf Facebook
AIFFLA

Ecuador

From the history of the railways of Ecuador

The railways of Ecuador consisted of a total of three lines:

From the harbour city of Guayaquil originally a bridge should have been built across the bay to Durán, but this has not yet been realised. Therefore the goods were transferred by ferries to Durán where they were loaded into railway goods wagons. At Durán can be found workshops, and there the railway line to Quito starts. The first line, with a length of 447 Kilometres, the basic line, called south line, goes from Durán as a lowland section via Yaguachi and Milagro to Bucay where the main workshops can be found. There the mountain section starts with an inclination of up to 55‰, which leads via Huigra, Sibambe (start of the spectacular Devil's Nose section, called after a rock spur, one of the world's most beautiful alpine railway sections ), Alausi and Palmira to Riobamba (2753 Metre above sea level). From there, the line reaches the culmination point of the line, 3609 metre above sea level, and goes via Ambato and Latacunga to Quito (2817 metre above sea level).

A branch line with a length of 145 kilometre goes from Sibambe via Azogues to Cuenca. Construction started in 1915, and the line opened in 1965. There were many private sidings with tracks of 600 mm and 1067 mm gauge, among others to the sugar factory Ingeniero San Sarli and to the plantations of the Empresa de Carros Urbanos.

The third line, called North Line, with a length of 373 kilometre, goes from Quito via Ibarra, Primer Paso and Cachavi to San Lorenzo where the sea is reached, and was finished only in 1957. All these lines have cape gauge of 1067 mm.

Beginnings

In 1861 the government, following a request from the President Gabriel Garcia Moreno, decided to build a railway network. In 1873 the first section with a length of 91 kilometre from Durán via Yaguachi to Milagro started operation. Heavy disturbances and the outbreak of the Cotopaxi volcano in 1877 retarded the work. In 1884, Barraganeta and in 1888 Bucay was reached where the main workshops were installed. After the death of the President, 22 years later, with the triumph of the liberal revolution, in 1895 work was restarted by the General Eloy Alfaro Delgado. After the death of the general the liberal government of General Eloy Alfaro restarted the work at the beginning of the 20th century and delegated the analysis and the study of the new alignment to the North American engineer Sighald Muller. After a investigation of two years, the engineer called the project to be the most difficult railway line of the world because of the geographical impediments to be overcome.

After further studies it was decided to delegate the construction of the line connecting the coast and the highlands to the North American Archer Harman who employed both local as well as black workers which were supported by 4000 Jamaicans. The line crosses Chimborazo province where the river Chancán continuously undermined the line and its concrete base. The terrible climate, the snake bites and the fever caused by the mosquitos resulted in a non-stop flight of the workers. Finally, on the 25th June 1908 the line reached Chimbacalle station at Quito where on the last section of track a golden rail nail was driven into the sleeper by the daughter of the railway director, América Alfora.

The permanent way

Whilst in the lowland section the glut and marsh districts hindered the construction, the lack of drainage systems and the fixed roadbed resulted in numerous interruptions during the tropical storms. Ballast is rare, the tracks are fixed with wrought iron nails and without rail chairs on the roughly cut wooden sleepers. On the mountain section, earth slides provoked repetitive considerable damage whilst the cause of this was never remedied. The quick sand and the volcano ash on the mountain line resulted in severe difficulties for the operation. The alignment was never changed after 1908 and only maintained minimally. The alignment around the Devil's Nose is being disputed even today. By using two setting-back track sections it was possible to overcome the large vertical height difference with normal inclinations as the railway is a pure adhesion railway.

The rolling stock: as per 28th August 2007

Steam engines

At the opening of the lowland section there were originally 4 Baldwin steam engines of Type 2-6-0 (1'C) available. Then followed engines of type 2-8-0 (2'D) for the mountain section. In 1929 Beyer-Garratts engines arrived which could haul up to 150 tons. Between 1927 and 1953 the steam engines were supplemented by further Baldwin engines of type 2-8-0 (2'D) for the mountain section, of which the last engines were delivered by Baldwin-Lima-Hamilton. They were the last narrow gauge steam engines built by Baldwin, and the service numbers went as high as 58. Today, there are still 2 lowland section engines and 9 mountain section engines around of which 4 need a small repair job, 6 a large repair job and 1 has been dismantled.

Diesel engines and Autoferros

In 1950 arrived 3 diesel electric engines called "Samatra" of which no details are available. They might be engines destined for Sumatra as Sumatra has the same track gauge. Of these engines 2 have to be completely rebuilt and 1 has been dismantled.

In 1957 arrived 5 Alsthom diesel electric engines Bo'Bo'Bo' with 3x2 Sulzer 6LDA25 motors of each 170 HP with the service numbers 151 - 155 for the Ibarra - San Lorenzo line. They had rheostatic brakes, in addition air brakes. For switching up the 12 steps, there was a pneumatic servo motor. Of these engines 1 has to be completely rebuilt, 4 were dismantled.

In 1968 arrived 10 diesel electric Alco CoCo-Loks of type RSD29/DL560C with 2600 HP and 16 cylinder 4-stroke turbocharged motors, serial numbers 491 - 500, service numbers 161 - 169, for the line from Durán to Quito, an order which Alco had passed on to its licence builder Euskalduna in Bilbao, in the Basque part of Spain. Of these 2 have to be completely rebuilt, and 8 were dismantled.

In 1992 arrived 10 more diesel electric engines GEC-Alsthom type AD24 Bo'Bo'Bo' with the service numbers 2401 - 2400, part of them a state gift of the former french President Mitterand. Of these, 4 are in working order, 2 need a small repair job and 3 need a large repair job.

In addition arrived 35 Autoferros, light passenger motor coaches, based on buses. Of these 6 are in working order, 3 need a large repair job and 26 were dismantled. In addition, there are track motor cars and other maintenance vehicles, but in 2005 only 4 track motor cars were in working order.

Goods wagons and passenger coaches

On opening there were 35 goods wagons, mainly for banana transport, available. Later followed further goods wagons and passenger coaches. The goods wagons were hand braked, and on the trip to the Devil's Nose many passengers travelled on the roof until this was forbidden. Today there are a total of 90 goods wagons and passenger coaches available of which 13% are in working order (mostly passenger coaches), 36% need a large repair job and 51% were dismantled. On the lowland section trains of 5 to 6 coaches were operated, on the mountain section mostly trains of 3 coaches.

Workshops were originally built at Durán and Bucay. Further workshops can be found in Riobamba (responsible for diesel equipped vehicles), Quito, Ibarra and San Lorenzo. In Riobamba there is also the railway's museum, the Guayaquil & Quito Railway Museum.

Operation: as per 28th August 2007

On the line to Cuenca which mostly served for goods transports, service stopped already in the early nineties. On the other lines there was regular goods and passenger operation until 1998. The then El Ninõ tempest disrupted the remaining lines, and from then on trains operated only on partial lines.

Between Bucay and Huigra there is 1 daily Autoferro. Between Riobamba, Sibambe and Alausi (Devil's Nose line) there is 3 times per week (Wednesday, Friday and Sunday) 1 train, between Quito and Cotopaxi for the visit to the nature protected area 1 train on Saturday and Sunday each. Between Ibarra and Primer Paso there is 1 daily Autoferro. Furthermore, Autoferros operate between San Lorenzo, Cachavi and Lita. Between Alto Tambo and Km 320 there are goods trains according to requirements. The old state railway ENFE - Ente Nacionál de Ferrocarril del Estado has been privatised, replaced by the new EFE - Empresa de Ferrocarriles Ecuatorianos, and very recently the railway was renamed Ferrocarriles del Ecuador. This has taken over 9 diesel engines and 9 steam engines. As there are no signals, radio systems, manned intermediate stations and working telephone lines, there is normally only 1 train underway (exception: Riobamba - Devil's Nose).

Since 2005 a project of the re-establishment of the lines is underway. Thanks to credits from Venezuela work has now started on the rebuilding of the line between Durán and Bucay where also concrete sleepers are used. Further projects concern a bridge between Guayaquil and Durán and a bypass line at Durán.

Lowland engine 11 crosses a bridge before reaching Yaguachi, Ecuador.
Lowland engine 11 crosses a bridge before reaching Yaguachi, Ecuador.
(Photo: Patrick Rudin)

 
   The Mixto  with lowland engine 11 crosses the city of Milagro on the way from Yaguachi to Bucay, Ecuador.
The Mixto with lowland engine 11 crosses the city of Milagro on the way from Yaguachi to Bucay, Ecuador.
(Photo: Patrick Rudin)

 
Lowland engine 11 (2-6-0, Baldwin, 1900) has arrived with a Mixto at Bucay, where the mountain locomotive will take over the train, Ecuador.
Lowland engine 11 (2-6-0, Baldwin, 1900) has arrived with a Mixto at Bucay, where the mountain locomotive will take over the train, Ecuador.
(Photo: Patrick Rudin)

 
   Diesel engine 2406 at Bucay (diesel electric, GEC Alsthom 1992), type AD24, Bo'Bo'Bo'', series 2401 -2409 , Ecuador.
Diesel engine 2406 at Bucay (diesel electric, GEC Alsthom 1992), type AD24, Bo'Bo'Bo'', series 2401 -2409 , Ecuador.
(Photo: Patrick Rudin)

 
Mountain engine 58 (2-8-0, Baldwin 75590/1952), last built Baldwin steam engine, with Mixto at Huigra, Ecuador.
Mountain engine 58 (2-8-0, Baldwin 75590/1952), last built Baldwin steam engine, with Mixto at Huigra, Ecuador.
(Photo: Patrick Rudin)

 
   Mountain engine 58 has with a Mixto passed the lower setting-back track at the Devil's Nose and pushes the train uphill to the upper setting-back track, Ecuador.
Mountain engine 58 has with a Mixto passed the lower setting-back track at the Devil's Nose and pushes the train uphill to the upper setting-back track, Ecuador.
(Photo: Patrick Rudin)

 
Mountain engine 58 at the upper setting-back track of the Devil's Nose, Ecuador.
Mountain engine 58 at the upper setting-back track of the Devil's Nose, Ecuador.
(Photo: Patrick Rudin)

 
   Mountain engine 58 with special train at Palmira between Alausi and Riobamba, Ecuador.
Mountain engine 58 with special train at Palmira between Alausi and Riobamba, Ecuador.
(Photo: Patrick Rudin)

 
Two autoferros stored at Riobamba, Ecuador.
Two autoferros stored at Riobamba, Ecuador.
(Photo: Patrick Rudin)

 
   Special train with mountain engine 58 on the way from  Riobamba to Ambato, Ecuador.
Special train with mountain engine 58 on the way from Riobamba to Ambato, Ecuador.
(Photo: Patrick Rudin)

 
Mountain engine 58 with special train at Latacunga, Ecuador.
Mountain engine 58 with special train at Latacunga, Ecuador.
(Photo: Patrick Rudin)

 
   Mountain engine 58 at Quito station, Ecuador.
Mountain engine 58 at Quito station, Ecuador.
(Photo: Patrick Rudin)

 
Twin engine Bo'Bo'Bo'' from the opening of the Ibarra - San Lorenzo  line (diesel electric, Alsthom/Sulzer 1955, series 151-155), stored at Ibarra, Ecuador.
Twin engine Bo'Bo'Bo'' from the opening of the Ibarra - San Lorenzo line (diesel electric, Alsthom/Sulzer 1955, series 151-155), stored at Ibarra, Ecuador.
(Photo: Patrick Rudin)

 
   Lowland engine 14 (2-6-0, Baldwin 1901) with special train  below Ibarra on the line to San Lorenzo, Ecuador.
Lowland engine 14 (2-6-0, Baldwin 1901) with special train below Ibarra on the line to San Lorenzo, Ecuador.
(Photo: Patrick Rudin)

 
Autoferro on the line Ibarra - San Lorenzo with the station building at Rio Blanco, Ecuador.
Autoferro on the line Ibarra - San Lorenzo with the station building at Rio Blanco, Ecuador.
(Photo: Patrick Rudin)

 
   Autoferro on the line Ibarra - San Lorenzo passes the village road at  Rio Blanco, Ecuador.
Autoferro on the line Ibarra - San Lorenzo passes the village road at Rio Blanco, Ecuador.
(Photo: Patrick Rudin)

 
Autoferro on the line Ibarra - San Lorenzo underway uphill from Primer Paso to Ibarra, Ecuador.
Autoferro on the line Ibarra - San Lorenzo underway uphill from Primer Paso to Ibarra, Ecuador.
(Photo: Patrick Rudin)

 
   Autoferro on the line Ibarra - San Lorenzo between San Lorenzo and Cachavi on a bridge, Ecuador.
Autoferro on the line Ibarra - San Lorenzo between San Lorenzo and Cachavi on a bridge, Ecuador.
(Photo: Patrick Rudin)

 

Sources and further Links

Monthly periodical: Eisenbahn-Amateur (Switzerland), February 2008
Periodical: Fahrplancenter-News, Issue 43, December 2007 - May 2008
Book: A world wide comparison of certain High Altitude railways, Part 5: The Guayaquil-Quito Railway (G&Q) in Ecuador, Hans-Peter Bärtschi
http://www.ferrocarrilesdelecuador.gob.ec/
Wikipedia: Ecuador

Freunde Lateinamerikanischer Bahnen

Deutsch English
Verein
News
Termine
Reportagen
Argentinien
Bolivien
Brasilien
Chile
Kolumbien
Costa Rica
Ecuador
Guatemala
Mexiko
Nicaragua
Panama
Paraguay
Peru
Puerto Rico
Reisen
Kontakt
Links
FLB auf Facebook
AIFFLA

Ecuador

Aus der Geschichte der Eisenbahnen in Ecuador

Die Eisenbahnen in Ecuador bestanden insgesamt aus drei Linien.

Von der Hafenstadt Guayaquil sollte ursprünglich eine Brücke über die Bucht nach Durán führen, die aber bisher nicht realisiert wurde. Deshalb wurden die Güter auf Fähren nach Durán geführt und dort in Eisenbahnwagen verladen. In Durán befinden sich Werkstätten, und dort beginnt die Eisenbahnstrecke nach Quito. Die erste Linie mit einer Länge von 447 km, die eigentliche Stammlinie, Südlinie genannt, führt von Durán als Tallinie über Yaguachi und Milagro nach Bucay, wo sich die Hauptwerkstätten befinden. Dort beginnt die Berglinie mit einer Steigung von bis zu 55‰, die über Huigra, Sibambe (dort beginnt die spektakuläre Teufelsnase-Strecke, nach einem Felsvorsprung benannt, eine der schönsten Gebirgsbahnstrecken der Welt), Alausi und Palmira nach Riobamba (2753 Meter über Meer) führt. Von dort erreicht die Linie bei Urbina den Scheitelpunkt der Linie, 3609 Meter über Meer, und führt über Ambato und Latacunga nach Quito (2817 Meter über Meer).

Eine Zweiglinie mit einer Länge von 145 km führt von Sibambe über Azogues nach Cuenca. Der Bau begann 1915 und die Linie wurde 1965 eröffnet. Sie hatte zahlreiche Anschlussgeleise mit 600 mm und 1067 mm Spurweite, unter anderem zur Zuckerfabrik Ingeniero San Sarli und zu den Plantagen der Empresa de Carros Urbanos.

Die dritte Linie, Nordlinie genannt, mit einer Länge von 373 km führt von Quito über Ibarra, Primer Paso und Cachavi nach San Lorenzo, wo sie das Meer erreicht, und wurde erst 1957 fertiggestellt. Alle diese Strecken wurden in Kapspur 1067 mm erstellt.

Anfänge

Im Jahre 1861 beschloss die Regierung auf Wunsch des Präsidenten Gabriel Garcia Moreno den Bau eines Eisenbahnnetzes. 1873 wurde die erste Strecke mit einer Länge von 91 km von Durán über Yaguachi bis Milagro in Betrieb genommen. Schwere Unruhen und der Ausbruch des Vulkans Cotopaxi im Jahre 1877 verzögerten die Arbeit weiter. 1884 erreichte man Barraganeta und 1888 Bucay, wo die Hauptwerkstätten eingerichtet wurden. Nach dem Tod des Präsidenten, 22 Jahre später, mit dem Triumph der liberalen Revolution, wurde im Jahre 1895 die Arbeit durch den General Eloy Alfaro Delgado wieder aufgenommen. Nach dem Tode des Generals übernahm die liberale Regierung des Generals Eloy Alfaro, am Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts, die Arbeit und delegierte die Analyse und das Studium eines neuen Trasse an den nordamerikanischen Ingenieur Sighald Muller. Nach einer Untersuchung von zwei Jahren nannte der Ingenieur das Projekt die schwierigste Eisenbahnlinie der Welt wegen der geographischen Hindernisse, die es zu überwinden galt.

Nach weiteren Studien beschloss man, den Bau der Linie, welche die Küste mit dem Hochland verbinden sollte, dem Nordamerikaner Archer Harman anzuvertrauen, der sowohl einheimische als schwarze Arbeiter einsetzte, die von 4000 Jamaicanern unterstützt wurden. Die Strecke durchquerte die Provinz Chimborazo, wo der Fluss Chanchán andauernd die Strecke und die Zementgrundlage unterspülte. Das unbarmherzige Klima, die Schlangenbisse und das durch die Mücken provozierte Fieber resultierten in der laufenden Flucht der Arbeiter. Schlussendlich erreichte der Streckenbau die Station Chimbacalle in Quito am 25. Juni 1908, wo mit dem letzten Gleisstück ein goldener Schienennagel von der Tochter des Bahndirektors, América Alfora, eingeschlagen wurde.

Der Oberbau

Während in der Tiefebene die Sumpf- und Schwemmgebiete den Bau erschwerten, führten der Mangel an Entwässerungssystemen und der feste Unterbau bei den Tropenstürmen immer wieder zu Betriebsunterbrüchen. Schotter ist Mangelware, die Schienen sind mit schmiedeisernen Nägeln und ohne Schienenstühle auf den grob gehauenen Holzschwellen befestigt. Auf der Bergstrecke entstanden durch Erdrutsche immer wieder grosse Schäden, wobei man die Ursachen kaum behob. Der Treibsand und die Vulkanasche auf der Bergstrecke erschwerten den Betrieb erheblich. Das Trasse wurde seit 1908 nie verändert und nur minimal unterhalten. Die Linienführung rund um die Teufelsnase ist noch heute umstritten. Durch zwei Spitzkehren wurde es möglich, mit normalen Steigungen die grosse Höhendifferenz zu überwinden, denn die Bahn ist eine reine Adhäsionsbahn.

Das Rollmaterial: Stand vom 28. August 2007

Dampflokomotiven

Bei der Eröffnung der Talstrecke standen ursprünglich vier Baldwin-Dampflokomotiven vom Typ 2-6-0 (1'C) zur Verfügung. Es folgten Loks vom Typ 2-8-0 (2'D) für die Bergstrecke. 1929 kamen Beyer-Garratts-Loks in Betrieb, die bis zu 150 Tonnen transportieren konnten. Zwischen 1927 und 1953 wurden die Dampflokomotiven ergänzt durch weitere Baldwin-Loks vom Typ 2-8-0 (2'D) für die Bergstrecke, wobei die letzten Loks von Baldwin-Lima-Hamilton geliefert wurden. Es waren die letzten für Schmalspur gebauten Dampfloks von Baldwin, und die Betriebsnummern gingen bis 58. Heute sind noch zwei Talloks und 9 Bergloks vorhanden, davon benötigen 4 einen kleineren Reparaturaufwand, 6 einen grossen Reparaturaufwand, 1 Lok wurde abgebrochen.

Dieselloks und Autoferros

Im Jahre 1950 kamen drei als "Samatra" bezeichnete dieselelektrische Loks in Betrieb, über die nichts näheres bekannt ist. Es könnten jedoch Loks sein, die für Sumatra bestimmt waren, da Sumatra die gleiche Spurweite hat. Von diesen Loks müssten 2 komplett neu aufgebaut werden, 1 wurde abgebrochen.

Im Jahr 1957 kamen von Alsthom 5 dieselelektrische Loks Bo'Bo'Bo' mit 3x2 Sulzer 6LDA25-Motoren von je 170 PS mit den Betriebsnummern 151 bis 155 auf der Strecke Ibarra - San Lorenzo in Betrieb. Sie hatten elektrische Widerstandsbremsen, dazu kamen Druckluftbremsen. Zum Schalten der 12 Stufen war ein pneumatischer Servomotor eingebaut. Von diesen Loks müsste 1 komplett neu aufgebaut werden, 4 wurden abgebrochen.

1968 kamen 10 dieselektrische Alco CoCo-Loks vom Typ RSD29/DL560C mit 2600 PS und 16-Zylinder 4-Takt aufgeladenen Motoren, Seriennummern 491-500, mit den Betriebsnummern 161-169, zwischen Durán und Quito in Betrieb, eine Bestellung, die Alco an den Lizenznehmer Euskalduna in Bilbao im Baskenland Spaniens abgetreten hatte. Von diesen müssten 2 komplett neu aufgebaut werden, 8 wurden abgebrochen.

1992 kamen 10 weitere dieselelektrische Loks GEC-Alsthom Typ AD24 Bo'Bo'Bo' mit den Nummern 2401-9 in Betrieb, ein Teil davon als Staatsgeschenk des französischen Präsidenten Mitterand. Von diesen sind 4 betriebsfähig, 2 benötigen einen kleineren Reparaturaufwand und 3 einen grossen Reparaturaufwand.

Dazu kamen 35 Autoferros, leichte Passagiertriebwagen, auf Bussen basierend. Von diesen sind 6 betriebsfähig, 3 benötigen einen grossen Reparaturaufwand, und 26 wurden abgebrochen. Ferner gibt es Draisinen und andere Fahrzeuge des Unterhalts, doch 2005 waren nur 4 Draisinen einsatzfähig.

Güter- und Personenwagen

Bei der Eröffnung standen 35 Güterwagen, hauptsächlich für den Bananentransport, zur Verfügung. Es folgten weitere Güter- und Personenwagen. Die Güterwagen wurden alle von Hand gebremst, und auf der Fahrt zur Teufelsnase reisten viele Passagiere auf dem Dach des Wagens, bis dies verboten wurde. Heute sind insgesamt 90 Güter- und Personenwagen vorhanden, von denen 13% betriebsfähig sind (meist Personenwagen), 36% benötigen einen grossen Reparaturaufwand und 51% wurden abgebrochen. Auf der Ebene werden fünf bis sechs Wagen geführt, auf der Bergstrecke meist drei.

Werkstätten gab es ursprünglich in Durán und Bucay. Weitere Werkstätten findet man in Riobamba (zuständig für alle Dieselfahrzeuge), Quito, Ibarra und San Lorenzo. In Riobamba befindet sich auch das Museum der Bahn, das Guayaquil & Quito Railway Museum.

Der Betrieb: Stand vom 28. August 2007

Auf der Strecke nach Cuenca, die hauptsächlich dem Gütertransport diente, wurde bereits Anfangs der neunziger Jahre der Betrieb eingestellt. Auf den übrigen Strecken gab es bis ca. 1998 regelmässigen Güter- und Personentransport. Der damalige El Niño-Sturm unterbrach die restlichen Strecken, und nachher verkehrten nur noch Züge auf Teilstrecken.

Zwischen Bucay und Huigra verkehrt täglich 1 Autoferro. Zwischen Riobamba, Sibambe und Alausi (Teufelsnase-Strecke) verkehrt 3x wöchentlich (Mittwoch, Freitag und Sonntag) 1 Zug, zwischen Quito und Cotopaxi zum Besuch des dortigen Naturschutzparks am Samstag und Sonntag 1 Zug. Zwischen Ibarra und Primer Paso verkehrt täglich 1 Autoferro. Ferner wird zwischen San Lorenzo, Cachavi und Lita gefahren, ebenfalls mit Autoferros. Zwischen Alto Tambo und Km 320 verkehren Güterzüge nach Bedarf. Die alte Staatsbahn ENFE - Ente Nacionál de Ferrocarril del Estado wurde privatisiert, neu durch EFE - Empresa de Ferrocarriles Ecuatorianos ersetzt, und ganz neu heisst sie jetzt Ferrocarriles del Ecuador. Diese übernahm 9 Dieselloks und 9 Dampfloks. Da es keine Signale, Funk, bediente Unterwegsstationen und funktionierende Telefonverbindungen gibt, ist jeweils nur 1 Zug unterwegs (Ausnahme: Riobamba - Teufelsnase).

Seit 2005 arbeitet man an Projekten für die Wiederherstellung der Strecken. Dank Krediten aus Venezuela hat man jetzt mit der Aufarbeitung der Strecke zwischen Durán und Bucay begonnen, wobei auch Betonschwellen zum Einsatz kommen. Weitere Projekte betreffen eine Brücke zwischen Guayaquil und Durán und die Umfahrung von Durãn.

Tallok 11 überquert vor Yaguachi eine Brücke, Ecuador.
Tallok 11 überquert vor Yaguachi eine Brücke, Ecuador.
(Foto: Patrick Rudin)

 
   Der Mixto mit Tallok 11 durchquert auf dem Weg von Yaguachi nach Bucay die Stadt Milagro, Ecuador.
Der Mixto mit Tallok 11 durchquert auf dem Weg von Yaguachi nach Bucay die Stadt Milagro, Ecuador.
(Foto: Patrick Rudin)

 
Tallok 11 (2-6-0, Baldwin,1900) ist mit Mixto in Bucay eingetroffen, wo die Berglok den Zug übernehmen wird, Ecuador.
Tallok 11 (2-6-0, Baldwin,1900) ist mit Mixto in Bucay eingetroffen, wo die Berglok den Zug übernehmen wird, Ecuador.
(Foto: Patrick Rudin)

 
   Diesellok 2406 in Bucay (dieselelektrisch, GEC Alsthom 1992), Typ AD24, Bo'Bo'Bo', Serie 2401 -2409, Ecuador.
Diesellok 2406 in Bucay (dieselelektrisch, GEC Alsthom 1992), Typ AD24, Bo'Bo'Bo', Serie 2401 -2409, Ecuador.
(Foto: Patrick Rudin)

 
Berglok 58 (2-8-0, Baldwin 75590/1952), letzte gebaute Baldwin-Dampflok, mit Mixto in Huigra, Ecuador.
Berglok 58 (2-8-0, Baldwin 75590/1952), letzte gebaute Baldwin-Dampflok, mit Mixto in Huigra, Ecuador.
(Foto: Patrick Rudin)

 
   Berglok 58 hat mit ihrem Mixto  die untere Spitzkehre der Teufelsnase passiert und schiebt ihren Zug bergwärts zur oberen Spitzkehre, Ecuador.
Berglok 58 hat mit ihrem Mixto die untere Spitzkehre der Teufelsnase passiert und schiebt ihren Zug bergwärts zur oberen Spitzkehre, Ecuador.
(Foto: Patrick Rudin)

 
Berglok 58 in der oberen Spitzkehre der Teufelsnase , Ecuador.
Berglok 58 in der oberen Spitzkehre der Teufelsnase , Ecuador.
(Foto: Patrick Rudin)

 
   Berglok 58 mit Sonderzug in Palmira zwischen Alausi und Riobamba, Ecuador.
Berglok 58 mit Sonderzug in Palmira zwischen Alausi und Riobamba, Ecuador.
(Foto: Patrick Rudin)

 
Zwei Autoferros abgestellt in Riobamba, Ecuador.
Zwei Autoferros abgestellt in Riobamba, Ecuador.
(Foto: Patrick Rudin)

 
   Sonderzug mit Berglok 58 auf dem Weg von Riobamba nach Ambato, Ecuador.
Sonderzug mit Berglok 58 auf dem Weg von Riobamba nach Ambato, Ecuador.
(Foto: Patrick Rudin)

 
Berglok 58 mit Sonderzug in Latacunga, Ecuador.
Berglok 58 mit Sonderzug in Latacunga, Ecuador.
(Foto: Patrick Rudin)

 
   Berglok 58 im Bahnhof Quito, Ecuador.
Berglok 58 im Bahnhof Quito, Ecuador.
(Foto: Patrick Rudin)

 
Doppellok Bo'Bo'Bo' aus der Eröffnungszeit der Ibarra - San Lorenzo - Linie (dieselelektrisch, Alsthom/Sulzer 1955,Serie 151-155), abgestellt in Ibarra, Ecuador.
Doppellok Bo'Bo'Bo' aus der Eröffnungszeit der Ibarra - San Lorenzo - Linie (dieselelektrisch, Alsthom/Sulzer 1955,Serie 151-155), abgestellt in Ibarra, Ecuador.
(Foto: Patrick Rudin)

 
   Tallok 14 (2-6-0, Baldwin 1901) mit Sonderzug unterhalb Ibarra auf der Strecke nach San Lorenzo, Ecuador.
Tallok 14 (2-6-0, Baldwin 1901) mit Sonderzug unterhalb Ibarra auf der Strecke nach San Lorenzo, Ecuador.
(Foto: Patrick Rudin)

 
Autoferro auf der Strecke Ibarra - San Lorenzo mit dem Bahnhofsgebäude in Rio Blanco, Ecuador.
Autoferro auf der Strecke Ibarra - San Lorenzo mit dem Bahnhofsgebäude in Rio Blanco, Ecuador.
(Foto: Patrick Rudin)

 
   Autoferro auf der Strecke Ibarra - San Lorenzo durchfährt die Dorfstrasse in Rio Blanco, Ecuador.
Autoferro auf der Strecke Ibarra - San Lorenzo durchfährt die Dorfstrasse in Rio Blanco, Ecuador.
(Foto: Patrick Rudin)

 
Autoferro auf der Strecke Ibarra - San Lorenzo auf dem Weg bergwärts von Primer Paso nach Ibarra, Ecuador.
Autoferro auf der Strecke Ibarra - San Lorenzo auf dem Weg bergwärts von Primer Paso nach Ibarra, Ecuador.
(Foto: Patrick Rudin)

 
   Autoferro auf der Strecke Ibarra - San Lorenzo zwischen San Lorenzo und Cachavi auf einer Brücke, Ecuador.
Autoferro auf der Strecke Ibarra - San Lorenzo zwischen San Lorenzo und Cachavi auf einer Brücke, Ecuador.
(Foto: Patrick Rudin)

 

Quellen und weiterführende Links

Zeitschrift: Eisenbahn-Amateur, Februar 2008
Zeitschrift Fahrplancenter-News, Nummer 43, Dezember 2007 - Mai 2008, Samuel Rachdi, Fahrplancenter
Buch: Ein weltweiter Vergleich von ausgewählten Hochgebirgsbahnen, Teil 5: Die Guayaquil-Quito Bahn (G&Q) in Ecuador, Hans-Peter Bärtschi
http://www.ferrocarrilesdelecuador.gob.ec/
Wikipedia: Ecuador